Rugbymania Prague...

The joint workshops with international teams have given birth to the leading Czech tournament - Rugbymania. A small tournament organized at the end of the workshop - to see how efficient the training is and that we still have a long way to go - has transformed into a tournament attracting the attention of teams from all over the World. Rugbymania is organized since 1998. We would like to thank all of the people who are supporting us.

David Lukes
Main Organizer of Rugbymania

Wheelchair Rugby in general

Wheelchair Rugby is a team sport, the most dynamically developed paralympic sport integrating disabled sportsmen.

Wheelchair Rugby is solely for quadriplegics, which means it is only for people with serious post-traumatic or genetic damage of functionality of upper and lower limbs. The rules of the game partly come from better known paraplegic basketball, but it is adjusted to the more serious health condition of the rugby players. This sport is played in a hall on a basketball court, which has got cones on its end lines that serve as goal posts. There are 12 players in each team, out of which 4 are playing and the players can change more or less arbitrarily (or to be more specific according to certain rules considering the medical classification of the individual players). The goal of the game is to score, which is to cross the goal line with at least two wheels of the wheelchair while having the ball completely under control. The team that scores the most goals during the game time (in four eight minute periods) wins.

Wheelchair Rugby was founded in 1977 in Canada and has spread all over the world very quickly. The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation has officially existed since 1990 and it unites over 30 countries. At least one of the four biggest competitions (Olympic Games, World Championships, World Games and European Championships) is the top event of each season.

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) is the governing body responsible for the sport of Wheelchair Rugby. We were first established in 1993, as a sport section of the International Stoke Mandeville Wheelchair Sports Federation, which today is known as International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports. In January 2010, the IWRF became an independent sport federation and is now a member of the International Paralympic Committee.

Wheelchair Rugby in the Czech Republic

'SK Quadru Fit' Hradec Kralove was the first club founded in the Czech Republic in 1993 and it became the base of the national team. In 2000, after an agreement of all teams (SK Quadru Fit, Q-klub Hrabyne a SK Ostrava), the Czech Wheelchair Rugby Organisation was founded and nowadays it works as a sport-technical commission of the Czech Wheelchair Rugby Organisation and runs the national team, organises the Czech league and represents Czech Wheelchair Rugby abroad. At the moment there are 5 teams in the Czech Republic. World Wheelchair Games in Stoke Mandeville in 1996 were the first that the Czech Republic participated in. Ever since then we have been fully-fledged members of the IWRF-European Zone.